2017 West Michigan Area Show

West Michigan Area Show 2017

March 4 - May 28, 2017
The work of West Michigan's talented community of visual artists is on display at the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts' annual West Michigan Area Show. Since the 1960s, this annual juried exhibition has showcased exceptional work in all media, drawing hundreds of entries from a 14-county region. Each year, an experienced juror chooses the artists from more than 500 submitted entries, ranging from paintings, prints and photos to mosaics, ceramics, jewelry, sculpture and mixed-media works.

Get a preview of the exhibition with this virtual tour by Virtual Spaces, LLC.

You are is invited to cast a vote for your favorite through May 21. The People's Choice Award ($500), sponsored by the Arts Council of Greater Kalamazoo, will be announced Tuesday, May 23 at noon during ARTbreak.

Organized by Karla J. Niehus, Interim Curator of Exhibitions, the exhibition will be on view through May 28.

Click here for a list of the WMAS 2017 Award Winners.


Notice: Undefined property: DB_Record::$default_layout in /home/kiarts/public_html/cms/includes/render_calendar.php on line 1022

Notice: Undefined property: DB_Record::$rss_to in /home/kiarts/public_html/cms/includes/render_calendar.php on line 292

Notice: Undefined property: DB_Record::$title in /home/kiarts/public_html/cms/includes/render_calendar.php on line 292

More >

Fiona Ragheb

This year's juror, Fiona Ragheb, is a Detroit-based curator with more than 20 years experience. She holds advanced degrees in art history and architecture. Her career includes work at the Walker Art Center, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, and the Broad Art Foundation.


update updated 2016Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs

Additional support provided by David Isaacson in memory of his wife, Helen Sheridan.

2017 Area Show Winners Gallery

wmas17rockman 000092 001579 137282 3854
Deborah Rockman, Companions 8, low-tech digital drawing on photograph. Helen Sheridan Memorial Grand Prize Winner
wmas17rockman 000092 001579 137282 3854
wmas17stapleton 000095 020835 290300 3854
wmas17ford 72
wmas17peng 000089 030490 304996 3854

wmas17larson 00028 025763 298222 3854
wmas17brodbeck 72
wmas17mazer 000086 030790 305598 3854
wmas17stickney 300dpi26 025321 307187 3854

wmas17hallisy.eclectic glass guild award
wmas17wolf 000024 026826 299569 3854
wmas17skarritt 000022 022197 292561 3854
wmas17agopian9thwave 72

wmas17bishopmaddox prize72dpi
wmas17smith 000093 022123 290209 3854
wmas17mattson 300dpu 000025 027630 300887 3854
wmas17roach 000033 031834 307766 3854

wmas17vollmar 000030 024273 295957 3854