Artists Who Teach: KIA Opens Biennial Faculty Review

Posted: September 11, 2015
Source: Katie Houston
Job Title: Marketing & PR Coordinator
Department: (269) 366-8488

15 Faculty Show

KALAMAZOO, MI -- An exhibition of work by artists who teach at the Kalamazoo Institute of Arts will open Saturday, September 19 at the KIA. The biennial Kirk Newman Art School Faculty Review will be on view through November 29, 2015.

Work in a variety of mediums by 47 artist-educators will highlight the diverse range of talent behind the year-round courses available at the KIA. Visitors can also learn more about the facilities and course offerings at the Kirk Newman Art School.

"Our teaching faculty members are all practicing artists and active participants in the local arts community," says Denise Lisiecki, director of the art school. "There will be work in ceramics, painting, jewelry, photography, and many more mediums, by award-winning artists. We're not only proud of the quality of their work as artists, but both the KIA and the community benefit from the work they do as dedicated teachers."

Director of Collections and Exhibitions Vicki Wright says, "This show reminds us all that the KIA is a landmark institution, where you can learn to appreciate the visual arts in our exhibitions and collections and also feed your creative soul by taking art classes."

The exhibition is sponsored in part by the Rosemary and John Brown Fund.

Exhibition galleries are open Tuesday, Wednesday, and Saturday, 11 am - 5 pm; Thursday and Friday, 11 am - 8 pm; and Sunday noon - 5 pm. Admission is $5, $2 for students, and free for children under 18, active military personnel, and KIA members. For more information, see

The following are represented in the exhibition: Melody Allen, Susan Andress, Susan Badger, Chad Bagge, Rebecca Brand, Richard Butler, Joan Carver, Sue Caulfield, Dawn Coeur, Julie Devers, Dawn Edwards, Kenneth Freed, Jerry Harty, Lindsay Hayosh, Brian Hirt, Gretchen Huggett, Ariadne ILL, Kelli Jackson, Linda Kekic, Adam Kuehl, Laurel Kuehl, Wyatt Lane, Sue Leabu, Xiaoying Li, Denise Lisiecki, Don Marek, Deborah Mattson, Jeanette Maxey, Susan McHenry, Becki Moffett-Moore, Mike Ouding, Michael Parr, Sarah Parr, Mike Pixley, Laurie Pruitt, Tom Richards, Martha Rosenfeld, Corinne Satterlee, Steven Scherbinski, Robert Shimmin, Lauren Tripp, Vicki VanAmeyden, Randy Walker, Kelly Walkotten, Mary Whalen, Emily Wohlscheid, and David B. Yeider.